Closes at
See all

Milano-Torino: Rho will host the start of the next two editions


The world’s oldest Classic – the first edition dates back to 1876 – will start from Rho in 2024 and 2025. After kicking off last year’s Milano-Torino presented by Crédit Agricole, the Municipality decided to run as host city once more. The agreement was sealed today at a press conference in the presence of the Mayor, Andrea Orlandi, the Councillor for Sport, Alessandra Borghetti, and Mauro Vegni, Cycling Area Director at RCS Sport.



Mauro Vegni, Cycling Area Director at RCS Sport: “This agreement with Rho is very significant because it establishes a kind of continuity desired by both parties. In fact, the local administration greatly appreciated the 2023 experience, in which the public welcomed the start of the race with enthusiasm and great participation. From our side, it is great to be able to create a base for the future as well and to create an even more solid bond”.

Andrea Orlandi, Mayor of Rho: “The happiness that fans of all ages gave us last March prompted us to continue our collaboration with RCS Sport. The Milano-Torino cycling classic is an event not to be missed, and Rho has been able to experience it as a truly great celebration of sport, a sport made up of tenacity, sweat, and courage. I hope that we will be gathered in the city centre once again to experience another festive occasion with adult fans and children alike”.

Alessandra Borghetti, Councillor for sport of the Municipality of Rho: “This cycling classic, much loved by all fans, has entered the hearts of the people of Rho. We are happy to host the start again and ready to collaborate on new sporting events. The rich programme accompanying the event on 13 March is the result of the strong link that Rho has with the world of cycling, thanks to the clubs that have been operating here for many years”.


  • The Milano-Torino is the world’s oldest Classic race: the first edition took place in 1876 with only 8 participants: Paolo Magretti won, at an average speed of 14.7 km/h.
  • The multiple winner of the Milano-Torino is Costante Girardengo with 5 victories (1914, 1915, 1919, 1920, 1923), followed by Pierino Favalli at 3 (consecutive: 1938, 1939, 1940).
  • Italy dominates the ranking of victories per nation with 73 wins compared to 5 for Switzerland and Spain.
  • In total, athletes from 14 different nations have won the Milano-Torino. In the last 3 editions, there have been 3 new entries: Slovenia in 2021 (Primož Roglič), the United Kingdom in 2022 (Mark Cavendish) and the Netherlands in 2023 (Arvid de Kleijn).
  • In 2023, Arvid de Kleijn set the record average speed of the Milano-Torino: 48.194 km/h, beating Enrico Paolini’s 1976 record (47.351 km/h).

Follow us
on social media
# milanotorino
top sponsor
official partners
institutional partners
official suppliers